Get the game

Which Saints Row: The Third version should you buy?

Buy Remastered if you want the 2020 lighting, the story packs, and a 60fps upgrade on PS5 or Xbox Series. Buy the 2011 original if you want the old PC build and its mod tools. Switch is the Full Package, not Remastered.

Steam store screenshot from the 2011 Saints Row: The Third page
Steam store screenshot from Saints Row: The Third Remastered

Edition table

I keep five rows because each row fails a different search. People asking for the Full Package are not asking for Remastered, and people asking whether the Switch cart is the remaster are asking for a no.

EditionYearWhereDLCCo-opStatus
Original2011PS3, Xbox 360, WindowsSold separately2 players; console Online PassSee row-linked edition sources
Full Package2012PC, PS3, Xbox 3603 story packs, not Online PassSame as originalSee row-linked edition sources
Switch2019Nintendo SwitchFull Package contentsListed as online co-opSee row-linked edition sources
Remastered2020–21PS4, Xbox, PC, then PS5/Series3 packs + 30 items, three exclusionsSteam and GOG cannot join each otherSee row-linked edition sources
Mobile2026iOS 18, Android 13Desktop DLC + 30 itemsFriend co-op; cross-store not statedSee row-linked edition sources

How I would choose

On a current PlayStation or Xbox, Remastered is the edition on the store, and the PS5 and Series versions are the free upgrade path described by Sperasoft and PlayStation. On PC, Steam still lists both the 2011 app and Remastered. The 2011 app is the one community model tools were written for. Remastered is the one with the new materials and the higher listed price, though sales move that price.

Switch owners should stop looking for a Remastered patch. Nintendo’s store page is The Full Package. Phone owners should use the Feral apps, not an APK. I left frame-rate cells blank where no store page prints a number.

NameRecordStatus
Saints Row: The Third (2011)
  • developer: Volition
  • publisher: THQ
  • platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, Windows
  • release na: 2011-11-15
  • release eu: 2011-11-18
  • release jp: 2011-11-17
  • engine: CTG
  • metacritic: PC 84 / PS3 82 / X360 84
  • online pass: Required on console for co-op/character sharing; not required on Steam/GOG

Obtain: Buy on Steam/GOG or second-hand console disc

Use: Base 2011 release; 9 languages on Steam, English full audio

4 sources
Evidence
The Full Package (2012)
  • developer: Volition
  • publisher: Deep Silver
  • platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360
  • release na: 2012-11-06
  • release intl: 2012-11-16
  • contents: Three mission packs + bonus items
  • exclusions: Online Pass, Bloodsucker Pack, Unlockable Pack; TF2 masks on some listings
  • price launch: USD 49.99

Obtain: Buy the 2012 re-release (disc or key); includes most DLC

Use: Definitive 2012 package; basis for the Switch port

3 sources
Evidence
Switch — The Full Package (2019)
  • developer: Fishlabs
  • publisher: Deep Silver
  • platform: Nintendo Switch
  • release: 2019-05-10
  • contents: The Full Package
  • performance note: Last-gen performance and input lag reported by Digital Foundry; exact resolution/FPS not captured in this research
  • price usd: 19.99 (MSRP; 2.99 sale to 2026-11-01)
  • remastered: false

Obtain: Nintendo eShop / physical

Use: Portable 2019 port; not the Remastered version

3 sources
Evidence
Remastered (2020)
  • developer: Sperasoft
  • publisher: Deep Silver
  • platforms: PS4, Windows, Xbox One, PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Stadia, Luna, iOS, Android
  • release: 2020-05-22 (PS4/Xbox One/Epic); 2021-05-22 Steam/GOG
  • engine: CTG with new lighting/PBR/HDR/GI
  • dlc: All three story packs + 30+ items; excludes TF2 masks, Bloodsucker, Unlockable Pack
  • metacritic: 70
  • opencritic: 74
  • steam reviews: 70% of 2,240 (Mostly Positive)
  • price usd: 29.99 (Steam/Xbox/PS); GOG base 39.00
  • next gen: PS5/Xbox Series X|S free upgrade, 60 fps, dynamic 4K

Obtain: Steam, GOG, Epic, PS4/PS5, Xbox One/Series, mobile

Use: 2020 remaster; best visual version

6 sources
Evidence
Mobile (iOS/Android, 2026)
  • developer: Feral Interactive
  • publisher: Deep Silver
  • platforms: iOS 18+, iPadOS 18+, Android 13+
  • release: 2026-10-29
  • price: USD 19.99 / GBP 12.99 / EUR 15.99
  • size: Android 19.3 GB free space; iOS 20.8 GB app / 22.12 GB free space
  • missions: 47
  • dlc: All desktop DLC + 30+ items
  • controls: Touch, gamepad, mouse & keyboard
  • languages: English, Czech, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish
  • co op: Online co-op with a friend; cross-platform co-op not stated
  • android min: Android 13; supported chipsets listed by Feral
  • ios min: iOS 18; A12 Bionic or later

Obtain: App Store / Google Play (paid, no APK)

Use: Official 2026 mobile port of Remastered

1 source
Evidence

FAQ

Is the Switch version Remastered?

No. The Switch release is The Full Package from the 2011-era content set, published in 2019.

Does Remastered include every DLC?

It includes the three story packs and more than 30 items. It does not include the Team Fortress 2 masks, the Bloodsucker pack, or the Unlockable pack.

Can I move a 2011 save into Remastered?

I could not find an official import path. I leave that cell blank instead of guessing.

Sources

CoverageStatusChecked
Source groups cited on this page5 source groups2026-10-31